Greifensee · Holiday · Luzern · Switzerland · Travel

Five days in Zurich, Switzerland

It’s 4.30pm on the 9th January 2017, my 22nd birthday is nearly over and I have opened all of my lovely presents. My boyfriend brings me a slice of birthday cake and one last surprise present, little did I know whats inside would be one of the best trips I have ever been on.

IMG_1208

Lewis and I went to Zurich for five days and four nights, we managed to see and do so many things due to Lewis’ knowledge and amazing planning skills (you can read all the details on how we saved money, bought our tickets for day trips and navigated our way through the city via public transport over on Lewis’ Zurich post). This trip definitely had a particular significance as Lewis used to live here, by the end of the week I felt like I had experienced a little bit of his childhood and I certainly now share his love for Zurich!

Zurich itself is the cleanest place I have ever been, hands down. The public transport is the most efficient I have ever come across too. We stayed on Militärstrasse in an Airbnb, this was a 5 minute walk from the Zurich Hauptbahnhof. Our Airbnb was also right next to Langstrasse and Lagerstrasse, two streets full of restaurants and bars. This was perfect for our stay as it meant we were close to transport, shops and lively nightlife! We were so lucky with the weather too, as by the end of our stay it was reaching highs of 24 degrees!

The only thing to beware of when travelling to Zurich is that it is very expensive. However; you can do everything you want to do on a budget. As we had our Airbnb we already saved on hotel costs, it also meant we could cook dinner and have breakfast in our apartment. We spent our lunches having picnics outside which were also a cheaper alternative than visiting a restaurant. This doesn’t feel like your missing out though, because the scenery is so beautiful you don’t want to be stuck inside a restaurant! Although it is expensive, it’s worth every last penny.

Day trip to Lake Luzern

IMG_1769
This was our first day trip- 50 minutes on the train to Luzern AKA paradise! One of the most beautiful places I have ever laid eyes on, and the first time I have ever seen a mountain in real life. I definitely underestimated how that would feel, it was absolutely breathtaking.
IMG_1782
Kapellbrucke, (Chapel Bridge), a wooden bridge that dates back to the 13th century. Again, absolutely breathtaking views of the clear blue water, and mountains in the view beyond. The place is so clean you can see right to the bottom of the lake.

IMG_1803

IMG_1812
On the other side of this photo is a strip full of restaurants with outdoor seating so you can sit and have lunch right on the lake.
mountains
This was a little bit further down from the main strip of restaurants and bars, the lake stretches out for miles and there are so many lovely trees and benches to stop and take it all in.

Day trip to Uetliberg

IMG_7090
Our second day trip we took a train to Uetliberg. It’s about a 20 minute train ride and 10 minute walk to the very top, and so worth it. There is 360 view points from the top, a restaurant and a tower for people who want to go a little bit higher. (I wasn’t that brave!)
IMG_7197
Uetliberg station, spot the children’s play park in the background.

IMG_1963

Day trip to Rapperswil

IMG_2039
Our next day trip was to Rapperswil, it takes about 2 hours on the ferry to get there but as we had such lovely hot weather it was really enjoyable. These trees were amazing in real life, and they ran the whole way down the lake.
IMG_2094
An aerial photo of Rapperswil, taken after climbing the (never ending!) steps to a viewpoint to look over the historic town.
IMG_2114
This day was especially clear, so we had fantastic views of the mountains in the distance.

IMG_2115

Day trip to the Greifensee

IMG_7190
Our last trip was to the Greifensee, near to where Lewis used to live. 15 minutes on the train, it is in a quiet location that not a lot of tourists would know about. There are multiple docks along the lake that you can sit on, put your feet in and watch the ducks and boats go by.
IMG_7192
We found a local supermarket, bought some lunch and beers and sat by the lake all day.

IMG_7191IMG_7193IMG_7194

A day by Lake Zurich

IMG_1693
There are well-kept gardens and benches all the way around the lake, I loved the colour of this tree on (luckily) the only gloomy day we had.
IMG_1763
There are swans everywhere- the funniest thing is some tourists really like them and want to take pictures feeding and petting them. In England everybody runs from swans! Beautiful but vicious haha!
IMG_1588
A gloomy day- a perfect opportunity for some moody photos.

Food in the city

IMG_7199
The first night we got there we decided to go out for dinner as a first night treat. This bar/pub Rheinfelder Bierhalle was a great find and I would definitely recommend going here. This is the Wiener Schnitzel- delicious!
IMG_7200
This was my bratwurst with potato rosti, the rosti was so nice we’ve found a recipe and plan to recreate it at home.
IMG_7201
On this night we had been out all day and needed a quick dinner without it being massively costly, even McDonald’s was expensive! Lewis found an Indian street food place and for 12 CHF each we got a chicken curry with rice and 3 vegetable sides. It was so nice and really good value for money. Now I’m looking back at the photo I want it again! Also, you can see my very burnt forehead in this picture haha! Find the street food place here.

Coop beach volley tour

IMG_7198
One of the highlights of the entire trip; this was the Coop beach volley tour. They set up an entire stadium in the Hauptbahnhof serving drinks, food and you could play games to win gifts. It was absolutely brilliant and the atmosphere was electric. The tour played out over a couple of nights when we were there and we went to see it twice. It was also free entry!
tempImageForSave (1)
A cheesy picture of me with my winnings!

I had such an amazing time in Switzerland and I would recommend anyone to visit this beautiful place. As a country it ticks all the boxes; beautiful scenery and so many places to visit, fantastic food and drink and an exciting busy night life.

Thanks so much for reading, I hope you enjoyed! If you have any questions or any feedback for this post I would love to hear it, so please reach out to me.

Ellie x

14 thoughts on “Five days in Zurich, Switzerland

      1. Wow, the world is so beautiful. I have been travelling quite regularly now. There are a lot of places that you can visit very cheaply.

        You need to know the best time to visit.

        Like currently if you want to Egypt to see the pyramid it’s the best time. 5 Star hotels are getting at a rate of 2 star.

        Similarly Turkey will be best. However, Sri Lanka, Bali, Malaysia and Vietnam are getting very hot and humid. So not the ideal time to visit.

        Like

      2. Totally agree. I went to Turkey two years ago on my first all inclusive holiday, so I have been lucky enough to visit there! What’s your favourite place you’ve ever been? X

        Like

      3. Well nothing beats the others, it’s like a book. Every book have something to give, you have to open your eyes and heart to see and read it.

        I reside in KSA, it’s mainly desert, but if you want to see, you will find, different colors of sand within the same desert. You see the shapes and arches of different terrain and mountain. You see a new terrain very few travel. For usual eyes, it’s just desert, sand and mountain.

        Same with destination, as to what you are looking at: Culture, Nightlife, Family fun, Shopping etc the list is endless.

        What I see, is to see how people go in their normal life, or what I can see, which others don’t.

        I went to many places by road I usually take long trips close to 1200km with my family sometimes. So we explore alot of places!

        My favourite so far, is a place, which give me seclusion, like Langkawi, you really want to forgot everything going around, in KSA Madina. These two places, makes me forgot the time and the place where I am. I just want to forgot myself in these places.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. That sounds really peaceful, I am going to have a little look into them now and get to know them better! It’s cool you can explore with your family, that’s one of my favourite things to do aswell. Xx

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Langkawi is in Malaysia, a beautiful country I would say. A bit far, and hot and humid if you are going in Summer. Better to go in winter, else the hot and humid temperature will kill for sure, unless you are taking a tanker of water with you.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

